Four Women (India) 2012

AKA: – Naalu Pennungal
Country: India
Year: – 2007
Language: Malayalam
Subtitles: English
Genre: Drama, Romance
Duration: – 1 hour 42 minutes
Director: – Adoor Gopalakrishnan
Cast: – Padmapriya, Geethu Mohandas, Manju Pillai, Nandita Das, Kavya Madhavan, K.P.A.C Lalitha, Sreejith Ravi
Naalu Pennungal (Four Women) is a critically acclaimed Malayalam film produced and directed by Indian Master Director Adoor Gopalakrishnan based on four short stories. written by famous Malayalam writer Thakazhi Sivasankara Pillai. It is the story of four women from Kuttanad in Alappuzha district in Kerala. The stories are set in the years between 1940s to the 1960s. The movie chronicles a journey of womanhood across assorted backdrops with a classic amalgamation of source matters and techniques that splendidly spans times and frames. The movie has four distinct parts – Story of an illegal affair, The Virgin, Chinnu Amma, Always a Virgin – each adapted from separate short stories. Each of the parts narrates the stories of women from different strata of the society- The prostitute, The Virgin, The housewife & The Spinster. Though the stories are not explicitly connected in narration, a pattern emerges in the flow of the movie – both in the chronological setting and the stature of the women.The film was premiered in the masters section of the Toronto International Film Festival in September, 2007. The film has so far been screened at more than twenty festivals. Adoor Gopalakrishnan won the National Film Award for Best Direction for the film.

Leave a Reply